The Prestigious Samuel C. Collins Award

The Samuel C. Collins Award is given by the Cryogenic Engineering Conference to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the identification and solution of cryogenic engineering problems and has additionally demonstrated a concern for the cryogenic community through unselfish professional service and leadership to this community. The award is open to persons of any national origin, but it has only been awarded 13 times since it was instituted in 1965.


In 2007 this award was presented to MMR’s Chief Technology Officer and Chief Executive Officer, Dr. William A. Little, shown at left in the photo below.



In 1965, the Cryogenic Engineering Conference established this special award in honor of Dr. Samuel C. Collins, naming him as its first recipient. Dr. Collins (1894–1984) was Professor Emeritus of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, the father of practical helium liquefiers and founder of the MIT Cryogenic Engineering Laboratory.